08
Nov
06

Yasmine Galenorn: Witchling

Great concept, interesting worldbuilding plus a voice I like.

Instant hit, don’t you think?

Nope.

Because the lead character, Camille, is a tourist. She takes us, the readers, everywhere, but what happened taking us INTO her head? And this book is written in first person, no less.
I know I expected great things of this book, and maybe the disappointment caused me to push the grade downwards.

Uh, also, for those of who care about these things, you might throw the book across the room on the basis that it’s not a romance despite what it says on the spine, hmm?

This rates 2.5 out of 5.

8 Responses to “Yasmine Galenorn: Witchling”


  1. November 8, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    I read it. One of my four books in October, lolol. And I really thought it was mislabeled because there’s not really romance in it, so to speak, though it doesn have romantic elements. I think urban fantasy or just fantasy would have been more appropriate.

    I thought the book was just okay, though I’ve seen reviews from people who loved it. I felt very disconnected from the main character, which, as you said, is unusual for first person. And I thought that story arc may have been too ambitious, because I didn’t get this sense of…completion? But that may be a side-effect of clearly meaning to continue the story in the next two books.

    I just felt there was too much backstory and too much current story being suggested but neither being thoroughly covered. Does that make sense?

  2. November 8, 2006 at 11:59 pm

    Bummer, I remember that you were looking forward to it.

  3. November 9, 2006 at 10:32 am

    Angie, I agree. It should not be labelled romance because there isn’t much romance at all in the book, HEA or no HEA.

    I’ve seen really great reviews, but I do know that a Twisted-Kingdom reviewer hated it.

    Yes, that makes sense. She beat around the bush, making us extrapolate too much.

    Auds, yeah. I was. :(

  4. November 9, 2006 at 1:47 pm

    Hooo boy. Well, my THE REST FALLS AWAY is labeled paranormal romance, but it’s technically not a romance either. Yes, there’s definitely a love story in it…but…well, it’s technically not a romance, by definition. :-)

    So be warned.

  5. November 9, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    I don’t mind, Colleen. The issue here is that the romance isn’t even an important subplot.

  6. November 9, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    Oh. Whew. *wipes sweat off her brow*

  7. November 9, 2006 at 5:03 pm

    I’ve been waffling on and off about this book. I ended up putting it on a “Maybe One Day” list after I decided to go on a urban fantasy/paranormal romance fast.

    When I read the blurb, I had to check once or twice to make sure it was a romance because the description didn’t strike me as such. Then I remembered the current trend to market urban fantasy-esque as paranormal romances.

  8. November 9, 2006 at 10:05 pm

    I belong to the Future, Fantasy and Paranormal Chapter of RWA, so I saw this book was out, but I’ve been deleting all posts related to it due to lack of time. I hate it when a book I’ve been looking forward to disappoints. The only author I feel that way about is Ian M. Banks, and so far he hasn’t disappointed me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

