28
Oct
06

Glomming Editors

I saw this post by Smart Bitch Sarah a few days ago, and didn’t think anything about it.

Until today.

I’ve just read 2 books edited by this particular editor. We’ll call her Miss W. No, it’s not her initial. I just like Ws. I won’t play the hot or cold game, but if you guess her name correctly in the comments, I’ll admit it.

I’ve read at least 2 other books edited by her, have another on TBR (purely a coincidence) and at least one other book edited by her on my wish list.

Things they have in common:

1. I always loooooooove the concepts.

2. The voice often doesn’t *quite* click for me, though I’ve not found one that irritates me as much LA Banks. At least 2 of them have a ‘feel’ that I can’t describe, but they have it.

3. They push the genre envelope, one to the very edge. So far to the edge that I’m surprised there wasn’t an uproar about it. Or if there was, I didn’t hear about it.

I can’t comment on other editors, I’m afraid, because I have no idea who edits whom. I mean, I could tell you who’s editing at which company, but the specifics? Not so much. This one I know because it seems that she’s The Editor–you address all query letters to her if you want to submit to her line. Plus…Hmm, I think it becomes too obvious if I say anything else. It might be too obvious if you read some of the reviews I’m posting next month.

It occurs to me that it’s somewhat easier to target agents, especially since they have websites, with links to their clients, nowadays. And their clients link back too.


5 Responses to “Glomming Editors”


  1. October 28, 2006 at 6:28 pm

    I do think it’s harder to narrow down an editor. Most authors do take the time to thank their editor in the acknowledgement pages. That said, you ‘hear’ who the dream editors are online. The thing that everyone must remember is that one person’s dream editor is another person’s nightmare. Not always, but it can happen. The same goes with agents. You just never know which category someone will fall into until you work with them for a while.

  2. October 28, 2006 at 7:38 pm

    Yeah, I know about the acknowledgements, but it can be rather more difficult than looking online, I think.

    That’d apply to agents too, wouldn’t it, Jordan? :)

  3. October 28, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    At least now with a lot of agents blogging you can get a feel for them. You can tell from their attitudes towards things whether they would be a good fit for you or not.

  4. October 28, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    Okay, now I’m curious to know which book should have caused an uproar.

  5. October 29, 2006 at 6:43 am

    You won’t play hot and cold? I’d say darn, but I wouldn’t know where to begin.

    Alice


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

