07
Oct
06

Renee Alexis Talks To Us: What’s My Motivation

Characterization! That’s the power of a story. That’s my motivation. In the story, Detroit’s Finest, my female character, Tracey Shane, is a typical woman—a person who just wants a good life, like everyone does. She gets more than what she bargained for by staying on the trail of one hot officer, Troy Davenport. What brought a character like Tracey Shane to the spotlight was none other than wanting the little guy to win for the first time. Her life was average, working as a file clerk at police headquarters, 1300 Beaubien—a real place I might add, and right in the heart of good ole’ Detroit.

Working in a police station can be pretty much run-of-the-mill; you do your job, hopefully do it well within a sea of blue suits, and that’s pretty much your day. It was Tracey’s day, but it definitely got better. Officer Davenport was the ray of sunshine in the dull life of a beautiful young woman. He was like a dream come true—he made her day exciting.

I didn’t want to make Tracey an officer; I wanted everyone to see her as just a regular person, but with a highly imaginative mind and active libido. A bit of a smart-mouth, a slave to fashion and someone who despises her boss, Tracey wanted something special and strove to attain it. I think she appeals to many women, be they black, white or whatever because she has a soft personality despite the fact she has a closet full of mini-skirts. By the way, they look awesome on her.

Troy Davenport discovers her softer side by allowing himself the opportunity to get to know her. Naturally, he did notice her flair for fashion, and how she so well worked that body in any and every outfit. Most importantly, he saw the very dimensional side of her; the side that was the epitome of sarcasm, the top of the heap in sensitivity, the cream of the crop in beauty. Yes, Troy knew Tracey had it all. She, to him, was perfect from head to toe, and that is what made him fall for her.

For Troy, Tracey was a breath of fresh spring air. Coming from a loveless relationship, he was very reluctant to fall into another trap. However, he felt within his heart that Tracey would be nearly impossible to avoid. The day he followed her from the station let the reader know that he was interested—though trying his best to hold back. It didn’t work. Couldn’t work. Not with a woman like her who could charm the pants off the very devil himself.

In a way, Troy and Tracey were destined for one another. Both embodied the personality of an extremely sensitive and caring person. I wanted to make Troy that way because of his profession. Not all officers are hard and by the books do or die! Having Troy be as caring as he is brought out a side that all women want to see in men. What I like about Troy is how he still cared for Daisha’s feelings even though they were on the quits, relationship wise. He’s the kind of man, despite his profession, who really does want the best for everyone—including himself. I also wanted this story to be a sensitive, interpersonal one because most of the time, cop stories are about rough, hard, tough sex with rough, hard officers. There is another side.

What made Troy special to me was that he had the integrity to, at least, let Tracey know that he was still married to Daisha. In addition, I think Troy respected the fact that Tracey wanted him without Daisha hanging on. Neither of them wanted to interrupt a marriage simply because of their want of one another. Eventually, Troy knew he had to sever ties in order to get what he felt he really deserved—a loving relationship with the woman of his dreams.

Even Daisha, who was terribly hard to like, had a sensitive character in my story, though slight in reference. It was hidden to the public but very aware in the idea of her calling after Troy the night of the club get-together. There was a hard exterior featuring a living, breathing little girl who didn’t know how to handle the ‘grown-up’ world of men and relationships.

True, Tracey may have called her an entourage of farm animal names, but in the real, Tracey had an idea what her boss might be going through by losing a man like Troy. She felt empathy for her boss, yet Daisha continued to make life hard for a couple who simply wanted to know what true love felt like.

My two characters fought battles throughout the story including avoiding the ever -present attraction, fighting with Daisha, to losing jobs, yet they persevered. Another dilemma was dating a co-worker. Troy had more of a problem with that than Tracey did. There’s always problems when that occurs. After all, she was the type of person who went for the gusto, but not if it ultimately hurt all parties involved—even Daisha.

The dilemmas in my story are questions I have for my audience. What do you think about cop stories that center on the interpersonal relationship as apposed to the rough and tough, no involvement stories? Was Troy too sensitive? Was Tracey too aggressive? Where did Daisha fit in all of this? Is it a good idea to date a co-worker? Feedback is always good so…talk to me.

Renee Alexis

“The Cop”

“A Taste of Temptation (December 06)

“Gotta Have It”

“He’s All That.”

“Satisfy Me” (December 06)


6 Responses to “Renee Alexis Talks To Us: What’s My Motivation”


  1. October 7, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    I like the relationship to be explored. For me, a story has to be about emotions as well as plot.

  2. 2 Amy S.
    October 7, 2006 at 5:57 pm

    I like reading books where they are dating a co-worker.

  3. October 7, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    Ladies. I thank you for your responses. Yes, co-worker relationships are very workable–if there’s someone there who isn’t a jerk. Also, finding love in all the wrong places makes the romance that much sweeter. I hope you enjoy the rest of my books as well as you seemed to with this one. I love all my fans so please, keep the love coming. I’m new at publishing and I need as much insight and exposure as I can get. Any additional comments, please post and I will answer ASAP. Thanks to all. Renee

  4. 4 Zara
    October 7, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    For me, the characterization and interpersonal relationships are so important to the story. I love books in which the characters are front and center. I agree with Amy S. in that workplace relationships can make for a good story too.

  5. October 7, 2006 at 8:48 pm

    :) Ah, I see you made it here. I misread your email to say that you couldn’t find the post! LOL, and not that your comments went into moderation.

    I, for one, can’t wait to read it!

  6. November 25, 2006 at 5:05 pm

    Its all about the surprise factor, which acts as a booster or breaker to relationships. Relationship with a co-worker is very common.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

