22
Sep
06

Janine Cross: Touched By Venom

I like her writing.

And I thought I was going to follow the trilogy.

But halfway through the book, I suddenly put it down and it took me two weeks to go back to it.

I finished it, but I feel that Cross’s protagonist is a tourist. Everything happens to people around her. I keep waiting for her to do something, but she’s yet to do anything.

This rates 6 out of 10.

4 Responses to “Janine Cross: Touched By Venom”


  1. September 22, 2006 at 12:16 pm

    What kind of book is this? And what made you put it down?

  2. September 22, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    It’s fantasy.

    I’m not sure why I put it down. I do know it happened after the protag’s sister was sold as a sex slave, but given that Cross didn’t describe the rape scenes and stuff, it didn’t turn me off. Hell, I’ve read some really ugly scenes before and I didn’t even have nightmares.

    I think halfway through was when I realised that the protag, Zarquel, was a tourist and didn’t feel like picking it up again.

  3. September 22, 2006 at 1:35 pm

    Amazon reviews seemed mixed as well.

  4. September 22, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    I actually picked it up because people were talking about dragon sex.

    Which is all and well, but it wasn’t THAT titillating. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

