22
Sep
06

David & Leigh Eddings: Crystal Gorge

OMG.

Do you know what the copyeditor didn’t catch? 4 replieds in 1 mass-market paperback page.

Freaking amazing, isn’t it? And if it was Mrs and Mr Eddings who STETed the replieds…

I couldn’t enjoy the book after that! I saw dialogue tags everywhere!

What am I going to do? I haven’t started on the Malloreon yet (and I desperately want to read it) and I’ve a feeling I’ll see tags everywhere too.

This rates 5 out of 10.

5 Responses to “David & Leigh Eddings: Crystal Gorge”


  1. September 22, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    What am I going to do?

    You know, sometimes you have to let go of the “rules” when you’re reading. Don’t analyze, don’t look for how they did things or which rules they broke, which they followed, how you would have written it different (in my case it’s how I would have edited differently). It’s a trick, but you have to learn to love the story, not the writing, sometimes. Because sometimes, what doesn’t work for you works for someone else and if you get too caught up in the technical, you miss something wonderful. You miss a lot of something wonderfuls.

  2. September 22, 2006 at 2:45 pm

    I don’t go out to analyze books. If I want to analyze something, I can read it again and that’s when I’ll start analyzing.

    But 4 Replieds on one page was waaaaaaaaaay too much.

    I’ll pick up the Malloreon anyway. And it occurs to me that this series is very different from the other Eddings series I’ve read. Hmm… Maybe I’ll love the Malloreon anyway. :)

  3. September 22, 2006 at 3:15 pm

    I haven’t read their newer works, so I can’t comment. And it’s been several years since I’ve read the Belgariad and the Mallorean, though they sit on my keeper shelf and have been re-read numerous times, so I can’t compare the two. Though I do recall some people saying the later works don’t have the magic of the Belgariad/Mallorean.

  4. September 22, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    I’ve heard that said as well.

    The Dreamers definitiely doesn’t have the magic of Belgariad, but I felt that Tamuli and the other one wasn’t bad.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

