17
Sep
06

Jon Courtenay Grimwood: Felaheen

I figure if I gush enough, somebody will go buy his books.

This is the third and final book of the Arabesk series, and it ties up the plotlines very well.

It’s set in El Iskandryia, which appears to be an amalgam of various Middle East cities.

The star is Ashraf, maybe a Bey, maybe an al-Mansur, maybe an Emir’s son. And maybe none of them.

He’s been the Chief of Detectives in El Isk, the magister, the prosecutor… I can’t remember what else.

Now he lives in the al-Mansur madersa with 2 of the richest women in North Africa…and he’s in debt.

Sigh. It’s the last book. :(

I haven’t reviewed his work before because his books defy description. Cross-genre doesn’t begin to cover it. It’s a detective novel set in a cyberpunk world with what I think are bits of allegory (but we all know I don’t get allegory).

But I really love his work. A large part of it is that I really like his voice. I’ll read anything he writes. In fact, I’ve been reading his work about a novel a week and I’ve not gotten bored of his voice yet.
This rates 10 out of 10.

1 Response to “Jon Courtenay Grimwood: Felaheen”


  1. September 17, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    Hmmm … have you read John Burdett and his Bangkok series? By what you said here, you might like! I was engrossed! I’ll have to try Mr. Grimwood; thanks for the recommendation!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

