15
Sep
06

Lilith Saintcrow: Dead Man Rising

I did worry that Dead Man Rising wouldn’t be as good as the first Dante Valentine book, Working For The Devil, but I shouldn’t have. Angie’s right.

It’s a more stately book than WFTD. Not that it’s not a page-turner, but that…I don’t know, I think it’s Danny’s sadness over You-Know-Who (it’s a spoiler if you’ve not read WFTD and why haven’t you?).

DMR is the book in which Danny faces her childhood. And it does have a happy ending. Sort of–this is Lili we are talking about, so happy endings cost the characters something.

I enjoyed meeting Polyamour the sexwitch and Nikolai the Nichtvren. I think I’m in love with Nicolai and he was only in the book for a few pages!

Go buy this book. Or WFTD if you haven’t read it yet.

This rates 9.5 out of 10.

3 Responses to “Lilith Saintcrow: Dead Man Rising”


  1. September 15, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    I’m reading it right now and really enjoying it. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

