10
Sep
06

JR Ward: Lover Awakened

Well, the WARDen, as her fans call her, didn’t use the Scribe Virgin as a cop-out again.

It’s a solid romance novel. I feel that the romance between Zsadist and Bella works better than Wrath’s and Beth’s, for instance.

I think this is the book that makes her as a writer. Not as in she won’t get any better, but that she has found her footing and has matured.

Some might feel that the book might be tighter and better if she cut out the scenes that don’t deal with Zsadist and Bella. I don’t disagree entirely with that. Like Jane, I think that we don’t really need to know so much about the lessers.

Her “worldbuilding” annoys me: If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, you can call it a duck, you feel me? Unless it has 3 legs, has neon green feathers, a pointed beak and squeaks, you can call it a duck. In fact, just call it a duck!

There are inverted commas around worldbuilding because changing contest to cohntest is NOT worldbuilding! Really. It’s not.

We won’t get into the names here. Me, I just think they are hilarious. Especially the part about us readers letting her get away with it.

Despite all that, the Black Dagger Brotherhood has largely lost its magic for me. I want to still love it, but I don’t. It’s just hard to love a writer you don’t trust.

One last thing: On page 219, it says whard with regards to someone asking for sehclusion status for his sister. But according to the glossary, it says that whard means godmother or godfather, and that the most powerful level of ghardian is that of a sehcluded female. Copyediting error? Or am I reading something wrong here?

This rates 7 out of 10.

3 Responses to “JR Ward: Lover Awakened”


  1. September 10, 2006 at 4:30 pm

    Okay, I haven’t read any of these yet, so maybe it wouldn’t bother me if I was really into the story — but are you serious? Contest became cohntest?

  2. September 11, 2006 at 4:49 am

    I ordered the first one just to see what the deal’s about. If I like the first I may order the second…or maybe not.

    I’m reading King’s Carrie right now. Really gripping.

  3. September 11, 2006 at 9:37 am

    I am serious, Meljean. I’m not kidding.

    Angelle, I’m back online with my own computer and will be dropping by your blog shortly. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

