23
Aug
06

Great Minds Think Alike?

Diana Peterfreund pokes a few holes at the Viral Blogging thang.

(Shut up. I know I said one post a day, but couldn’t resist adding to what she said.)

See, I feel the same way.

I took part in Dear Author’s Viral Blogging experiment because of the prizes.

I loved Nalini‘s book, don’t get me wrong, but if I had not read it, I’d have taken part anyway just for the prizes. Same goes for the ones I’ve taken part in before–Gena Showalter’s and MJ Rose’s.

This is the first time I’ve taken part in a blogging contest because I loved the book/author.

The point of viral blogging is to get the author/book title out to people who might not have heard of the author/book title otherwise.

Except that I read a fair number of the bloggers on the Dear Author listing. Most of the others, I’m passing familiar with–if only because one of my fellow romance bloggers links to them. They are all the usual suspects–I don’t mean this in a bad way.
I imagine if a blog reader reads one of those blogs, they probably read a couple more of the rest. I assure you, and most other people are going to be the same, that making read that same post twenty times is not going to make me buy a book. And I do feel like I’ve read it twenty times!

One last thing: At some point, this is going to become spam, peeps. Take my word for it.

6 Responses to “Great Minds Think Alike?”


  1. August 23, 2006 at 3:50 pm

    I read Diana’s post and then read through some of the comments. Everyone made such excellent points that I could see both sides of the argument. But basically, I normally don’t participate in viral blogging. In all honestly, it was the $200 prize that got me. When I see viral blog posts myself, I usually just skim/ignore them.

  2. August 23, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    (I haven’t read Diana’s post — I’ll head there in a second, so forgive me if I repeat anything obvious).

    I think it’s an interesting experiment — but as a campaign, I don’t think it’ll work more than once. For example, Out of the Blogosphere did (still does?) ads like that, and most people I know just skimmed right over them.

    It’s exposure, which is great — but a book needs buzz, which is what reviews and discussion give it. I daresay the two reviews at Dear Author did more for the book than 100 of these ads will. (Not to mention reviews here, at Rosario’s, and so on.)

    I do hope it does great, and I’m crossing my fingers that it hits the bestseller lists just because it is such an original concept in romancelandia, and because I’ve read some of Nalini’s other work and enjoyed the hell out of it — but my excitement for this book comes from that other work, and what I’m hearing from other readers. Not the ads.

  3. August 23, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    Meljean, that’s the issue I have with the blog touring groups like GCC and OOTB.

    If the blogger’s not PERSONALLY enthusiastic about the book, then there’s no impetus for the reader to buy the book. It’s kinda like, if you haven’t read it, why are you recommending it to me?

    Your recommendation, therefore, has no credibility. It all boils back to word of mouth, and I honestly wouldn’t call this word of mouth.

  4. August 23, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    SPAM???!!

    Oh, please, don’t tell me that!!

  5. 5 Diana
    August 23, 2006 at 7:05 pm

    It’s interesting to see the variety of reactions to the post, especially the people that would refer NOT to hear opinions about the books the bloggers have read.

    The Out of the Blogosphere posts are ones I skip over. Before I joined the GCC, I read the posts when they provided original content (Shanna Swendson was a great example of this. Her interviews are always so funny!) but now that I am a member, I rarely read the other members’ tours, because I already know about the book from writing my own post.

  6. August 23, 2006 at 10:33 pm

    Well, I haven’t even participated yet. Haven’t decided if I will. I do think it can quickly turn into spam. I’m more inclined to read books based on an actual review on a blog.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

