22
Aug
06

Sela Carsen: Not Quite Dead

Sela was sweet enough to send me an ARC of her debut novella from Samhain.

She has it spot on when she says that it’s a para-rom-zom-com-nov, or paranormal romance zombie comedy novella.

I like her voice, and I liked her characters. What niggles I do have are plot niggles, and I’ll post them in the comments if you want to read them–I can’t do the white-out thing here for some reason.

So it gets a 7.5 out 10–which is high for a novella given that I usually fail them.

4 Responses to “Sela Carsen: Not Quite Dead”


  1. August 22, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    Gaaah! You’re killing me! Post the niggles!!!

  2. August 23, 2006 at 1:05 pm

    Ooooops! I’m sorry, Sela! I forgot! I knew there was one more Blog Thing on my to-do-list, but I thought it was Colleen Gleason’s Interview.

    1. Why doesn’t Richard St. Ivraie tell Willem right off that he hadn’t tried to kill him?

    2. Seems odd that Sabine doesn’t know about her infamous ancestor Rose when her cousin does.

    3. If Sabine isn’t Rose, then how/why did the spell work? Because of the Fates?

    It’s probably just me.

  3. August 23, 2006 at 1:28 pm

    1. Because Richard knows that Willem has every reason to hate him. He accepts that Willem *should* kill him. He’s got guilt issues.

    2. Sabine’s mama doesn’t gossip about the family tree. Lily’s mama (the dimwitted Dena) does.

    3. Yep, because of the Fates. As I said, they have a dramatic sense of timing. It’s just sheer coincidence that Lily and Sabine were at the graveyard that night, the anniverary of Willem’s death. Richard would have been there regardless and the whole thing would have gone *much* differently.

    And it probably isn’t just you! I worry that little stuff like this can turn into major hang-ups for people. I’m just glad I knew the answers, even if they didn’t translate too well in the book.

  4. August 23, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    Phew.

    They weren’t major, and to be honest, if it had been a print book, I’d not have noticed it.

    I do kinda have double standards, because I write on computer, so I tend to see everything as a writer when I read ebooks.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

