13
Aug
06

Laurie Halse Anderson: Speak

Wow.

I cannot recommend this book enough.

Laurie Halse Anderson is a genius!

Melinda Sordino is an outcast from her first moment as Merryweather High.

Some of you are thinking, “Oh boy, another one of those books.”

You’ll be wrong.

For some of us, it’s not going to be an easy book to read. The ending made me cry–in a good way, because Melinda comes through her experiences stronger and better for it.

It’s a book that gives hope to those of us who have had to live through terrifying times, because if Melinda can do it, then you can do it too.

I had planned to use review another book for Angie’s TBR Challenge. But this book deserves it more. Much Much Much Much Much Much Much More.

2 Responses to “Laurie Halse Anderson: Speak”


  1. 1 jmc
    August 16, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    I read Speak after a throw-away mention of it on a thread about YA over at AAR. Loved it. I’ve tried another Anderson book since then (Catalyst, maybe?) that didn’t grab me as much, but I really like her voice and style.

  2. August 16, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    I think it’s another Diana P YA recommend.

    I’ve Catalyst on TBR, actually. What a coincidence!

    And I talked AngieW into getting it to. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

