28
Jul
06

Strength and Independence

Jorrie Spencer brings up a very interesting point about the Strong Woman Stereotype.

From a Smart Bitches post (again, snurched from the lovely Jorrie):

I love strong and independent women in Romance, but professionally passionate women aren’t necessarily personally wanting and emotionally deprived (it’s often quite the opposite, in fact, at least in real life), and I wish we could move away from this stereotype in contemporary Romance.

I totally agree with that statement.

There are successful women out there who don’t regret the sacrifices they’ve made to get to where they are today. There are successful women out there who have somehow made the time to smell the roses and really live life. There are successful women out there who aren’t really looking for a significant other or want their lives to change.

Sure, there are those who came from dysfunctioning homes, or lived hand to mouth as children. That was what spurred them on to success.

But some of them came from well-off and happy homes. They just had that hunger for something more.
And I understand that latter group. My family’s well-off and we’re (mostly) normal. I just dream a little bigger than my peers do–no, I’m not referring to the NYT-bestselling part.

Okay, so I’m a bit nuts, but I don’t consider myself emotionally-deprived. There is a difference, and if you’re a shrink who reads my blog, please confirm this. ;)


2 Responses to “Strength and Independence”


  1. July 29, 2006 at 3:33 pm

    Hmm. What exactly is “emotionally deprived”? I’m wondering if Lori falls into this stereotype.

    Thanks for the linky love above ;)

  2. July 29, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    Gee…. She might.

    I’ll think about this and get back to you whenever you send out the next instalment. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

