24
Jul
06

Pure Sex

Lucinda Betts: The Bet

Very hot, and very sensual, but despite it’s novella-length, she does actually leave me satisfied that Zoe and Phillip are meant to be together. That is really rare for me. And their banter sure is fun!

I’ll be keeping an eye out for her.

Bonnie Edwards: Slow Hand

I’ve had problems connecting with her characters before. Same thing again, and I think it’s simply that her writing doesn’t work for me.

Sasha White: The Crib 

Alexis reminds me of Annabel from Alison Kent’s gIRL-gEAR books–I’ve just read it, before writing this review. And that’s a very good thing in my book.
Sasha’s writing style is almost raw, and it suits Alexis’s voice perfectly. I don’t tend to like reading sex scenes in first person, but this time, it works for me.

My quibble is that I don’t think the plot worked very well. I felt it suffered Novella-itis, which is when the author had to cut and cut and cut some more in order to keep it a novella.

And since she tells me she reads my blog, Sasha, are we going to get another Alexis book?

I liked this antho, but I’d honestly suggest getting the authors single titles instead. You’d probably get better value for your money.

FYI, Sasha sent me this book.


7 Responses to “Pure Sex”


  1. August 20, 2006 at 1:10 am

    LOL
    Yes I do read your blog..however, You posted this review when I was in Atlanta at RWA Nationals.LOL I was internet-less for over a week. LOL ( ialways take a few days extra when I go to conference)

    Sorry you had to wait so long for the answer but uhmmm…Yes, I do plan on more Lexy. I’ve not sold or contracted them yet though. I’ve decided to meet the contracts I have before I do because I have special plans for Lexy. :)

    Also, I’m sorry you felt that things were cut from the plot to make it fit a novella. I started out as a short story writer, and writing longer is always a challenge. I didn’t cut a word from THE CRIB, and in fact, actually was still a few thousand short of what it was supposed to be. LOL It’s getting better though….I hope :)

  2. August 28, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    Hey MI:

    Glad you liked my story! I love writing novella-length stories. After I write 10 pages, I’ve actually finished a chapter. Instant gratification! However, if you want to keep your eye out for single titles, I’ve got MOON SHADOW coming out in March 07 and THE SUPPLICANT coming out in June 07.

    SWAK,
    Lucinda

  3. September 22, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    Hey MI: Do want to take a look at NIGHTS SPELL? It was just released. I can send you the pdf or a hard copy.
    SWAK, Lucinda


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

