11
Jul
06

The Art of the Skim

I’ve always been a cover to cover reader.

I didn’t need to hurry. I finish most novels in 2 hours flat, and I can continue at that rate for days at a time–that’s 5-6 books a day.

But I can’t do that any more. Not because of time or the lack thereof, simply that I’ve lost that ability to enjoy every single book I get my hands on.

On the other hand, sometimes you want to know what happens, but don’t want to read every single word on the page.

Hence the Skim.

Except I don’t know how. It’s just ingrained in me to read every single word.

Sorry about this very late post. I’m frazzled today.

2 Responses to “The Art of the Skim”


  1. July 11, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    Yeah I’m not a skimmer either. I have to read every single word UNLESS I can’t get into the book and have no intentions of finishing it. Then I’ll skim to the end just to get an idea of how it ended before I throw it in the DNF pile.

  2. July 12, 2006 at 5:11 am

    Sometimes I want to finish it but I doubt that it’s worth the time, you know?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

