28
May
06

Gena Showalter: Awaken Me Darkly

I think this book is better than Heart of the Dragon.

It stands out better, perhaps because AMD is written in first person and because Mia has Attitude. I do wish Mia wasn't "I look like a delicate little thing but I'm not" though.

I thought this was going to be a fun and sassy book, which it's not. That's a good thing, because I like darker books like this one much better.

I've read many first person romances where the other half seems two-dimensional next to the one in whose POV the book is written in. Doesn't happen here. 

Kyrin is his own person, not just the guy the author wants Mia to hook up with. I wonder if his sister is going to get her own story. I'd like that. 

And I like how Gena dealt with the soulmate/destiny/we're meant to be forever thing–read the book to find out. Different, but good.

This series is something to look forward to if you're into light SF romance.


7 Responses to “Gena Showalter: Awaken Me Darkly”


  1. May 28, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    This is the only book of Gena’s I’ve cared for. But I do have an ARC of her next release and it looks interesting, so I’m going to give it a try. And I’ll buy Enslave Me Sweetly :)

  2. May 29, 2006 at 3:01 am

    My only real problem with Heart of the Dragon was that her voice doesn’t stand out, and HOTD is pretty much your run-of-the-mill can’t-decide-whether-it-is-paranormal/fantasy romance.

  3. May 29, 2006 at 3:03 am

    Ironically enough, I finished reading AMD just last night. I like Mia–she reminds me of LKH’s Anita Blake. (Nobody shoot me for that comparison.)

    Aliens are definitely a different concept than what I’m used to. I was afraid it would lean too much into SciFi that I put it back down at the bookstore… before coming back for it. I’m glad I did.

  4. May 29, 2006 at 3:23 am

    I did the same, but it was because I wasn’t impressed with the other Showalter book I read.

  5. 5 imaginary08
    July 1, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    I JUSt finished AMD last night around 2/3 o’clock in the morning. Yes, it was that good. Although I’ve liked some of her other books, I wasn’t quite sure that I’d like this one because it was so DIFFERENT when I first picked it up. But I trust Gena not to dissappoint, and read it anyway. I was NOT dissappointed. Mia Snow is one tough cookie who doesn’t take any B.S. I like that in a heroine because I can’t stand prissy females who can’t do anything by themselves without complaining… no offense to anyone. ^_^ I like the twists in the plot. Just when you think you know who comitted the murders, you’re wrong. I recommend this book to any and all!! ^_^ 20/20 stars from me


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

