14
Apr
06

Lilith Saintcrow: Working For The Devil

First book in the Dante Valentine series.

I loved this book.  

It's what I've been looking in urban fantasy novels with a female lead character. I've read Kim Harrison, Charlaine Harris, Rachel Caine, and Laurell K. Hamilton. But Lilith Saintcrow is the real thing. 

Dante, or Danny, is a fighter. She fought her way from the bottom to the top. I like that. 

Her prose has the same kind of focus Danny has when she's on the hunt, and it complements the plot very well.  

And her world-building? WOWZERS! 

Get this book. You won't regret it.  

4 Responses to “Lilith Saintcrow: Working For The Devil”


  1. January 11, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Wow. You and I have two very different reaction to this book. I loved the world building, but I didn’t care for Danny as a character and since the entire book was written in her POV it was a bit difficult to get through it. Basically she wasn’t the type of person I wanted to get to know better; nor was she the type to fascinate me in a horrifying way Hannibal Lecter did in SOTL. I would have liked to get to know Gabe better because I really like her. (And Jace too)

    I’m going to read the second book and see if it gets better.

  2. January 11, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    I think the second book was better.

    You and Mailyn had the same reaction, by the way. She loved the worldbuilding and couldn’t stand Dante.

    I think it’s like how some people have very strong personalities, and then what usually happens is that you either love them or hate them. I’ve yet to see any lukewarm reactions to Dante.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

