26
Mar
06

RITAs 2006

The Finalists

First, I’d like to say I’m really glad that Lani Diane Rich
is on the list for Ex And The Single Girl. She’s one funny writer, and
you should pick up Ex And The Single Girl–I know, I should too. Add Literary Chicks to your RSS reader whilst your at it.

I’m also really glad that JR Ward made it for Dark Lover in the Paranormal romance category. Dark Lover was a very good read indeed.

Then I’d like to find out: Was La Nora the first person to final three times
in the same category in the same year, or has Bronwyn Jameson gone one better on the Queen of Romance?

And I’m also wondering, will they make it up to her for not winning anything last year, especially
after that debacle at RWANational?

I think The Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder and Catherine Asaro’s
The Misted Cliff are the first
Luna books to final, but I could be wrong, given that the first Luna
was published early 2004. The Poison Study was the second Luna to be
published in hardcover–that is how good she is thought to be (I’m a
cheapskate so I’ve not yet read it).

The past year has been a banner year of NON-Romance novels for me.

I’ve read exactly 1 novel from the Paranormal category, and of the
remainder
only 1 more is on the wish list. And I’ve not read a single Romantic
Suspense one nor are any of the finalists on my wish list–and I’m not
adding them to the list either.

I’m honestly rather surprised
that Stefanie Feagan was nominated for Best First Novel with Show Her
The Money. It wasn’t bad–definitely one of the better Bombshells–but
it wasn’t great. It, IMHO and apparently the judges disagree with me,
just didn’t have that spark.

People are talking over at Smart Bitches (whose captcha hates me and won’t let me comment) and if you’d like to know more, Diana Peterfreund discusses the confusion over the RWA contest categories.


2 Responses to “RITAs 2006”


  1. March 27, 2006 at 2:01 am

    I often find that I haven’t heard of several of the authors nominated for the RITA. It’s pretty much like that every year.

  2. March 27, 2006 at 3:42 pm

    Mmmm yeah, it always happens.

    But even in the two subgenres I do read? And I haunt reader blogs and reviewer websites, even if I do take reviews with a grain of salt.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

