04
Mar
06

The Hard Stuff

This is anthology is one of the first Aphrodisia titles.

I won my copy on Writeminded, and it came signed by Karin Tabke.

Stakeout by Karin Tabke
A cop and a Fed, with a past relationship, and the case they are working on now…

It’s pretty nifty how Karin managed to avoid the squick factor some of us (not me) see in group sex by having her hero and heroine be voyeurs instead. Very hot too.

As for the story, it’s not rushed, unlike many novellas I’ve read, and the storyline works. Karin has a deft hand with banter, and if she becomes a repeat author for me, that will be why.
Bodywork by Bonnie Edwards
This is definitely the novella I enjoyed least.
The sex itself was hot. But the story left me cold. I hardly think that’s what an erotic romance writer would want to happen to her read.

I can’t explain why. She’s got craft, pacing, etc. I just don’t think the story has heart.

Chinatown by Sunny

Mark my words, but Sunny is going to be a star. :)

Beautiful writing, well-structured, and it all comes together with a sensual feel.

The Hard Stuff is definitely worth getting. It runs to the more vanilla-side of erotic romance (I’m not saying this is a bad thing; it simply is), but sometimes, it’s about the writing and not the content. Karin Tabke and Sunny have certainly succeeded on that score.

But for those of us who are looking for more hardcore sex, Kate Douglas’s Wolf Tales would be more the thing.


1 Response to “The Hard Stuff”


  1. March 25, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    I only just read this review. And I’m blown away by your comments for THE HARD STUFF! What a wonderful surprise to come across this Saturday morning. Thank you for your oh so gracious review!

    Sunny


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

